Posted by: marshamwhite | January 31, 2010

Grammy 2010

And the winner is…

Later on tonight, millions of viewers will tune in to watch the 52nd Annual Grammy Awards show. As an aspiring artist and lover of the arts, I have always enjoyed watching the Grammys. I remember sitting around with my family in the living room and taking bets on who would win. I would say my predictions were about 65% correct. Now that I am away from home, I will definitely enjoy this show with some of my closest college friends and feisty cat in my cozy Boston apartment.

The best part of the show are the performances. The authentic style of the show has showcased some of the greatest performers including Michael Jackson. This year’s performers include Drake, Eminem, Jamie Foxx, Lil Wayne, Elton John, Roberta Flack, and T-Pain. Although, the performances are one of the most anticipated parts of the show, I am highly disappointed that there aren’t a lot of female performers. I would rather see female artists perform than male artists especially if some of the hip-hop acts have limited stage presence. I mean don’t get me wrong, I enjoy two-stepping to the hip-hop songs but I would rather see Beyonce do her booty-shaking performance for ‘Single Ladies’ .

Now, there has been talk that Taylor Swift, Beyonce, Lady Gaga and the Black Eyed Peas will take home the most Grammys. And regardless of who wins, I wish everyone luck but it’s exciting to see who will lose. AOL.com has a “Never Won a Grammy” section on their website and I was surprised to see some of the losers. Some of the losers include 50 cent who was nominated 13 times and has yet to pick up a win, Jessica Simpson (no surprise there), Diana Ross (no wins for solo work and as a Supreme), Jewel, and the Backstreet Boys.

There has been much publicity on the Michael Jackson tribute. His two eldest children, Prince Michael and Paris, will be making another unforgettable appearance celebrating their father’s undying legacy. Really excited about tonight and hope to see the Grammy wins and losses, best and worst dressed, and who will take home the most Grammys. Till next time, Bloggers.

Photo by Ya’akov. Some rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Categories

