Posted by: marshamwhite | February 14, 2010

Africa Nite Dance prep

Dance has always been a part of my life. Coming to Northeastern gave me the opportunity to get involved in various organizations including the Caribbean Student Organization, NU’s Black Student Association and other cultural groups. In order to educate myself on various issues in Africa. Not only did I realize the similarities of my Caribbean culture to that of the African culture, but I had the chance to experience the various dance forms of Africa. I became a member of the Northeastern African Student Organization (NASO) and was one of the NASO dancers. Now the experience was great especially performing at their annual “Africa Nite”. But I realize that a lot of people are not aware of the time and commitment it takes to being in a dance team.

On Feb. 20th, NASO will mark their 21st Anniversary as a student group here on campus. Their 6th Annual Africa Nite will be one of the biggest celebrations on campus. I got the opportunity to capture photos of their dance team and show the behind the scenes look of the prep work that is involved in creating a successful dance group. The pictures show a dedicated group of students who want to show their pride of Africa and dance to the rhythms of the djembe drums.

As you look at these pictures, I hope you can look at the commitment, inspiration and pride that is running through the veins of each dancer. Hope you enjoy.

To look at other pictures in the slide show, click here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

